26.4 C
Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Pakistan, England re-live 1992 final

By Anashe Murombedzi

Pakistan and England will re-live a 1992 encounter when they face each other in the final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Melbourne, Australia this Sunday.

Both teams are past winners of the T20 World Cup. Pakistan clinched it in 2009, while England followed suit the following year.

England demolished India in the second semi-final by 10 wickets to make their way to the final, while Pakistan strolled to a 7-wicket win over New Zealand.

Pakistan and England have played 28 T20Is between themselves with England winning 18 matches, while Pakistan got nine.

The two sides recently met in a bilateral T20I series with England winning the series 4-3. In the last five matches between both teams, England have a head-to-head of 4 to 1.

While the final is set for Sunday, Monday has been scheduled as the reserve day in case of rain.

Two hours will also be added to allow play to continue late into Monday evening.

If a 10-over-per-side contest cannot be played, then England and Pakistan will be declared joint winners.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles